Scientific Review Committee

The Scientific Review Committee will review all PSG research proposals including retrospective data mining projects and prospective studies, whether observational or interventional. A primary and secondary reviewer will be assigned and the Committee will review and score each proposal. The Committee will also facilitate contacts with the Mentoring Committee as appropriate. Requests for use of PSG repositories (DNA, CSF, blood, urine, video) will also be reviewed by the Scientific Review Committee. The Scientific Review Committee will consist of a chair and approximately ten to fifteen members to serve terms of three years and will rotate off one third of its members every year.

Prior to submitting any proposal to the PSG, we encourage all investigators to make use of the PSG Working Groups and get assistance, if needed, from the PSG Mentoring Committee.

Note: For projects requiring access to the DATATOP biospecimen repository, a separate proposal review and funding mechanism is now managed through NINDS at .

  1. Proposal is submitted to PSG and reviewed by PSG Chair and Co-chair
  2. Proposal is assigned a primary and secondary reviewer from the Scientific Review Committee (SRC)
  3. Primary and secondary reviewers submit their review within 30 days of receipt
  4. Proposal and reviews are distributed to the SRC
  5. SRC rates the proposal using the NIH 9-point scoring system. Individual reviewer scores will be averaged and the result multiplied by 10 to determine the final impact/priority score (range of 10 to 90)
  6. Proposal is approved, approved with criticisms, or not approved
  7. Proposals with criticisms are referred to the PSG Executive Committee

Submissions due 30 days before SRC meeting and responses back to proposing investigator within 30 days of SRC meeting. SRC meets 3 times per year, every 4 months.

Upcoming Submission Deadlines:

  • May 3, 2021
  • August 2, 2021
  • December 6, 2021

Click here to download the RFP.

NeuroNEXT provides an established infrastructure including a data coordinating center (University of Iowa), Clinical Coordinating Center (Massachusetts General Hospital) and approximately 28 study sites. Funded NeuroNEXT studies will use this infrastructure which includes central IRB and pre-established contractual agreements with all sites. All but 3 NeuroNEXT sites are also Parkinson Study Group sites.

Academics, foundations and industry are eligible to submit proposals to NeuroNEXT. Initially, a brief Study Concept Synopsis is evaluated for mission relevance and feasibility by the NeuroNEXT Executive Committee (NEC). Proposals which are found to be mission relevant, feasible and of sufficient priority are referred to protocol working groups for development of grant applications. The resulting grant application would be submitted for NINDS peer review.

Find the NeuroNEXT Clinical Study Concept Synopsis here:

Utilizing DATATOP Biospecimens

PSG DATATOP biospecimens research: Projects requiring access to the DATATOP biospecimen repository a separate proposal review and funding mechanism has been developed in collaboration with The Michael J. Fox Foundation (MJFF) and the NINDS Parkinson’s Disease Biomarkers Program (PDBP) and supports the identification and validation of novel biomarkers through use of DATATOP biospecimens.

The Michael J. Fox Foundation is now accepting pre-proposals to our Use of Parkinson’s Disease Biosamples Request for Applications (RFA).

Awards are up to $300,000 for a one- to two-year grant. The deadline for pre-proposals is September 24, 2019, at 5 p.m. ET. Awards include funding and accompanying biosamples for research programs focusing on Parkinson’s target and assay development. The Foundation is especially interested in studies focused on:

  • Assay development and validation for novel biomarkers
  • Biomarker replication and validation of promising measures that associate with Parkinson’s or progression
  • Target discovery and validation

Apply Now.


Who Serves on the PSG SRC?

Download a PDF of the member list here. 

Joel Perlmutter, MD, Chair (2020-2023)
Washington University School of Medicine
Department of Neurology
660 South Euclid Box 8111
St Louis, MO 63110
(314) 362-6026     Fax: (314) 362-0168
Assistant: Enid McIntosh

M. Maral Mouradian, MD, Co-Chair (2020-2023)
William Dow Lovett Professor of Neurology
Vice Chancellor for Faculty Development, Rutgers Biomedical and Health Sciences
Director, RWJMS Institute for Neurological Therapeutics
Rutgers – Robert Wood Johnson Medical School
Director, American Parkinson Disease Association Center for Advanced Research
683 Hoes Lane West, Room 180
Piscataway, NJ 08854
(732) 235-4772     (732) 235-4773     Fax: (248) 325-3115
Executive Assistant: Lauren Kelly

Christopher A. Beck, PhD (2019-2022)
Associate Professor
Department of Biostatistics & Computational Biology
University of Rochester Medical Center
601 Elmwood Avenue, Box 630
Rochester, NY 14642
(585) 275-6781     Fax: (585) 273-1031
Download Dr. Beck’s bio here.

Jia Li, PhD (2019-2022)
Department of Public Health Sciences
Henry Ford Health System
One Ford Place, 3E
Detroit, MI 48168
Download Dr. Li’s bio here.

Jennifer G. Goldman, MD, MS (2020-2023)
Section Chief, Parkinson’s Disease and Movement Disorders, Shirley Ryan Abilitylab
Professor, Department of Physical Medicine & Rehabilitation and Neurology, Northwestern University Feinberg School of Medicine
355 E. Erie Street
Chicago, IL 60611
(312) 238-1000     Fax: (312) 238-3695

Alberto Espay, MD, MSc (2020-2023)
Professor of Neurology, Director, Gardner Family Center
Research Chair for Parkinson’s Disease and Movement Disorders
University of Cincinnati
260 Stetson St., Suite 2300
Cincinnati, OH 45267-0525
(513) 558-4035     Fax: (513) 558-7015
Assistant: Lori Selm

Jill L. Ostrem, MD (2020-2023)
Carlin & Ellen Wiegner Endowed Professor of Neurology
Division Chief, UCSF Movement Disorder and Neuromodulation Center
Weill Institute for Neurosciences
University of California San Francisco
1635 Divisadero Street, Suite 520
San Francisco, CA 94143
(415) 514-6966     Fax: (415) 353-9060

Joseph Savitt, PhD (2018-2021)
University of Maryland School of Medicine
Associate Professor of Neurology
110 S. Paca Street, 3rd Floor
Baltimore, Maryland 21201
(410) 328-7809     Fax: (410) 328-0167
Download Dr. Savitt’s bio here.

Tatiana Foroud, PhD (2020-2023)
Chair, Department of Medical & Molecular Genetics
Department of Medical and Molecular Genetics
Indiana University School of Medicine
410 W. 10th Street | HS 4000
Indianapolis, IN 46202-3002
(317) 274-2240     Fax: (317) 278-1100
Assisttant: Linda Robinson

Marta San Luciano Palenzuela, MD (2018-2021)
University of California, San Francisco
1635 Divisadero Street, Suite 520
San Francisco, CA 94115
(415) 353-2311     Fax: (415) 353-9060
Download Dr. San Luciano’s bio here.

Gregory Pontone, MD, MHS (2018-2021)
Director, Parkinson’s Neuropsychiatry Clinical Programs
Johns Hopkins University School of Medicine
Morris K. Udall Parkinson’s Disease Research Center
Associate Professor, Departments of Psychiatry and Neurology
(410) 502-0477
Download Dr. Pontone’s bio here.