Mentoring Committee

What is the PSG Mentoring Committee (MC)?

The PSG Mentoring Committee (MC) has three main roles. 

1. To solicit, review, and select candidates to receive the Parkinson’s Disease Foundation supported mentored clinical research award.  This is a major award in support of a project that is a practical training ground for individuals to acquire new skills and expertise in clinical research.
2. To serve as a resource for individuals who need assistance in formulating and developing protocols to the point where they are ready for review by the Scientific Review Committee. 
3. To develop and organize innovative programs to promote interest in Parkinson’s disease research, facilitate the development of mentorship relationships, and increase awareness of resources within the PSG that can provide opportunities for initiating research efforts.


The Mentoring Committee oversees the PSG Advisor Program.  Implemented in 2009, the PSG Advisor Program helps new investigators find a local mentor or specific research funding sources for their research.

Who Serves on the PSG Mentoring Committee (MC)?  
(Those names underlined link to a picture and bio of that member)  

A. Jon Stoessl, CM, MD, Chair (2012-2015)
Professor and Head of Neurology and
Director of the Pacific Parkinson's Research Centre
 & National Parkinson Foundation Center of Excellence
University of British Columbia

Vancouver Coastal Health
2221 Wesbrook Mall
Vancouver, BC, CANADA   V6T 2B5
(604) 822-7967; Fax: (604) 822-7866

assistant: Janita Gosal (


Roger Albin, MD, Co-Chair (2012-2015)

University of Michigan

109 Zina Pitcher Place – 5023 BSRB

Ann Arbor, MI  48109-2200

(734) 764-1347; Fax: (734) 763-7686

Assistant: Denice Heckel:


James T. Boyd,MD (2010-2013)
Assistant Professor of Neurology
University of Vermont, Department of Neurology
89 Beaumont Avenue
Burlington, VT   05405


Jessica Calleo, PhD (2011-2014)
Assistant Professor of Psychiatry and Behavioral Sciences
Baylor College of Medicine
2450 Holcombe Blvd., Suite 01Y
Houston, Texas  77030
(713) 794-8521; Fax: (713) 748-7359


Wendy Galpern, MD, PhD (2012-2015)

Program Director, Clinical Trials


6001 Executive Blvd., Rm 2225

Bethesda, MD 20892

(301)  496-9135; Fax: (301) 480-1080


Jennifer G. Goldman, MD, MS  (2010-2013)
Assistant Professor, Section of Movement Disorders
Department of Neurological Sciences
Rush University Medical Center
1725 W. Harrison St., Suite 755
Chicago, IL  60612
(312) 563-2900; Fax: (312) 563-2024
(312) 942-8007 (voicemail)

Michael McDermott, PhD
University of Rochester

Department of Biostatistics
601 Elmwood Avenue Box 630
Rochester, NY 14642
(585) 275-6685; Fax: (585) 273-1031

John Nutt, MD (2011-2014)

Oregon Health & Science University

Department of Neurology, OPC32

3181 SW Sam Jackson Park Road

(503) 494-7228; Fax: (503) 494-9059


Assistant: Julie Doolin: 


Kristen Pickett, PhD (2012-2015)

Washington University School of Medicine

Program in Physical Therapy &

Department of Neurology - Movement Disorders Section

Campus Box 8502

4444 Forest Park Blvd., Room 1101

St. Louis, MO 63108

(314) 286-1478



Fredy J. Revilla, M.D. (2010-2013)
Associate Professor of Neurology
Head, Division of Movement Disorders
University of Cincinnati
260 Stetson Street, Suite 2300
Cincinnati, OH 45267-0525
(513) 558-6503/Fax: (513) 558-0412
Email: or revillf@UCMAIL.UC.EDU

Assistant: Kelly Lyle - woosleka@UCMAIL.UC.EDU

Joshua M. Shulman, MD, PhD, (2011-2014)  

Instructor in Neurology at Harvard Medical School

Associate Neurologist at Brigham & Women’s Hospital

77 Avenue Louis Pasteur, NRB 168A

Boston, MA  02115

(617) 525-4466; Fax: (617) 525-5333



Cynthia Comella, MD (Advisor Program)
Rush University Medical Center
Department of Neurological Sciences
1725 West Harrison, Suite 755
Chicago, IL 60612
(312) 563-2900/Fax: (312) 563-2684

Assistant: Tracy Waliczek



 updated 2.14.13